My Cart


George Anderson

George Anderson - Expressions - CD Album



Format: CD


Shakatak bass player, George Anderson, releases his second solo album 'Expressions' through Secret Records.
George Anderson - bass player extraordinaire with the legendary 80's multi-award winning group Shakatak who's tune 'Nightbirds' was a global phenomenon, finally releases the follow up to his first solo-album 'Positivity' with the fantastic 'Expressions'. Having composed, produced and engineered the entirety of his first album, George has come back prepared to amaze fans once again with his unique style of contemporary jazz-funk.

Having initially honed his bass playing skills from listening and absorbing a variety of greats such as Jacob Pastorius, Larry Graham, Willie Weeks as well as rockers Chris Squire and Andy Fraser, George has effectively been able to combine so many different genres into his unique musical style. Combining his level of musicianship with a love for Stevie Wonder and Prince equates to his approach to song-writing; a funky groove matched with irresistibly catchy melodies. The track 'Lay Ur Hands On M' from 'Positivity' highlights this and it established George's talent as a solo song-writer after it was selected as 'Track Of The Week' by Jazz FM upon its release.

'Expressions' has built on and is an improvement of George's talent. From the inescapable grooves of opener 'Back In The Day' through to the timeless soul of closer 'Inside Ur Love', this album ushers jazz-funk into the modern age without compromising the elements that made the genre so special before. 'Expressions' is a wonderful listening experience for anyone looking to appreciate great music from a great musician.
1. Intro
2. Back In The Day
3. Moment Away
4. Into U
5. Mr. G
6. High And Mighty Love
7. It's About Time
8. Closer
9. Weakness
10. Latin Love (Amour Latino)
11. Wanna Make U Mine
12. Inside Ur' Love