My Cart


Mike Brooks

Mike Brooks - What A Gathering + One Love - CD Album



Format: CD

Mike Brooks isn't a name that will register with casual reggae fans but connoisseurs will know of him, and especially the two albums included here. H's an unsung hero who made his mark on the music's development, and yet still awaits due recognition - a situation that should now change once this reissue has reminded people of what a fine singer he is, and how the label he shared with Jah Lloyd back in the seventies released such timeless material.
Real name Edmund Brooks, he was born in 1953 and raised in East Kingston, near Mountain View Avenue. After singing at school, he made his start in the business singing with a little-known vocal group called the Tots, who recorded their debut The Earth Is The Fullness for Lee "Scratch" Perry. The Tots split up soon afterwards, leaving Brooks to concentrate instead on record production alongside his friend Pat Francis, who deejayed under the name of Jah Lloyd. He and Brooks formed the Teams label in 1969, and launched it the following year with Jah Lloyd's Soldier Round The Corner.
More extensive sleeve notes in the CD booklet.
2 original albums on 1 CD.

What A Gathering

  1. You Never Know
  2. Love Won't Come Easy
  3. Never Give Up
  4. Far Away Land
  5. Somebody's Stolen My Girl
  6. Oh Oh Natty Dread
  7. Fighting You're Brethren
  8. Woman Of Assylum
  9. What A Gathering
One Love
  1. Grooving
  2. Sensie Man
  3. Mother-In-Law
  4. Love On The Highway
  5. A Man Is King
  6. No War Over Woman
  7. Lovely
  8. One Hear One
  9. Lover's Street
  10. Complicated Love