My Cart


The Animals

The Animals - Animalisms - Vinyl LP



Format: LP

Vinyl re-issue of The Animals classic third album Animalisms on 180 gram Blue vinyl with double sided insert. Their first album after leaving Columbia and signing to Decca.
With their gritty, bluesy sound and Eric Burdon's deep, powerful voice, The Animals took the world by storm when they released their epic transatlantic No. 1 hit, 'The House Of The Rising sun'.

As a consequence they spent most of their time on the road which meant there was little time for recording, and only released three albums during their heyday.

Their third LP, Animalisms, peaked at #4 in the UK album chart in 1966. Time in the studio was considered a luxury and the album was recorded live in the studio in between shows and gigs, giving 'Animalisms' a raw, authentic sound. Instead of focusing on making commercial, three minute hit singles the band got an opportunity to shine on the R&B and soul numbers that make up the album.

Burdon is on the peak of his career, and Rowberry's organ, Valentin's guitar riffs and the solid rhythm section provides the perfect back-drop for Burdon's passionate voice booming and roaring in a way that never sounded better.

"Outcast", "Maudie", "You're on My Mind", "That's All I Am to You", "Squeeze Her - Tease Her," "I Put a Spell on You", and "Gin House Blues" all rate among the best work the band ever did. By September 1966, this line-up of the group had dissolved, with Barry Jenkins replacing John Steel on drums and the band changing names to Eric Burdon and the Animals.

Enjoy 'Animalisms' as a raw and exciting look at British R&B at its very best.


Side 1
1. One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
2. Maudie
3. Outcast
4. Sweet Little Sixteen
5. You're On My Mind
6. Clapping

Side 2
1. Gin House Blues
2. Squeeze Her - Tease Her
3. What Am I Living For
4. I Put A Spell On You
5. That's All I Am To You
6. Sh'll Return It