My Cart



Beatifik - The Long Drive Home - CD Album



Format: CD

Shakatak's Roger Odell written and produced with son Jamie and featuring Jacqui Hicks, Mornington Lockett, Keith Winter, Simon Goulding and Larraine Odell plus guest appearances by Liane Carroll, Paul Higgs & Snowboy.

Roger is the drummer and a founding member of Shakatak for whom he wrote lyrics for the band's Top 50 recordings and Jamie (AKA Jimpster) is a DJ/Producer and joint owner of Freerange Records. The album consists of 11 original compositions and one standard.

The main vocalist is Jacqui Hicks who is a regular backing singer with Shakatak, the lead vocalist with the Back To Basie Orchestra and featured artist with her own bands and many others whilst Larraine Odell is the featured singer on 2 songs.

Saxophonist Mornington Lockett is recognised as one of the leading UK jazz musicians and plays tenor and soprano saxophones on a number of tracks.

Guitarist Keith Winter is a former Shakatak member who left the band due to illness and who made a miraculous recovery as demonstrated here.

Joining for the first time is the bass guitarist Simon Goulding from the Snake Davis Band.

Beatifik is completed by Jamie on keyboards and Roger on drums and programming.

For this new album there are guest appearances by Liane Carroll who is featured on the title track, Paul Higgs on trumpet and flugelhorn and the percussionist Snowboy.


  1. Disguised
  2. When Your World Was Mine
  3. Slaves To The Beat
  4. Surrender
  5. Cruise Control
  6. Celebrate
  7. Danza Del Diablos
  8. Blue Mood
  9. Lazy Afternoon
  10. Estepona Sunrise
  11. Island Hoppin'
  12. The Long Drive Home