My Cart



Beatifik - Intrigue - CD Album



Format: CD

From Shakatak's Roger Odell - written and produced with son Jamie Odell and featuring Mornington Lockett, Jacqui Hicks, Keith Winter and Larraine Odell.
Roger Odell's Beatifik group have recorded a new CD entitled "Intrigue", produced by the father and son team of Roger and Jamie Odell. Roger is the drummer and one of the founder members of Shakatak, for whom he wrote the lyrics to all of the band's Top 50 recordings. Jamie (AKA Jimpster) is a producer/DJ and part-owner of Freerange Records. He was an original member of the improvising group The Bays and has recently worked with producer Trevor Horn on Seal's new album.
The tracks have both music and lyrics composed by Roger apart from two collaborations with Jamie, one with Shakatak keyboard maestro Bill Sharpe and Roger's special re-arrangement of a Cole Porter classic which features jazz singer Larraine Odell - wife to Roger, mother to Jamie! She also adds her unique velvet sound to two other tracks.
The album additionally celebrates the return to performing of guitarist Keith Winter, who had to leave Shakatak in the early 90's due to a mysterious illness which affected his central nervous system. After completely losing the ability to play the guitar for almost 20 years, he has made a miraculous recovery over the last 3 years which has totally confounded his doctors and given hope to those similarly affected. On the evidence of this recording Keith is now playing as well as ever.
The main vocalist on this recording is Jacqui Hicks who is the regular backing singer with Shakatak, the lead vocalist with the UK's Back To Basie Orchestra and a featured artist with many other groups. Jacqui also performs with her own group and she has recorded two CDs under her own name.
Mornington Lockett is one of the very best UK jazz musicians and is featured on a number of tracks on both tenor and soprano saxophones. He won a British Jazz Award for his band The New Couriers, which evolved from the famous Ronnie Scott/Tubby Hayes group, The Jazz Couriers.
Roger's vast experience of performing in jazz, fusion, latin and funk is combined with Jamie's knowledge of all the latest modern recording techniques and great talent as a pianist/composer/producer on the cutting edge of popular music. With the undoubted ability of the additional personnel this new Beatifik CD "Intrigue" is proudly presented.


1. Burning
2. Intrigue
3. Beat Of My Heart
4. Dedicated To You
5. Pittulongu
6. Seascape
7. Dance With You
8. Star-Crossed
9. Under My Skin
10. I Wouldn't Know What To Do
11. Warm
12. H's Not Here