My Cart


Red Dirt

Red Dirt - Red Dirt - CD Album



Red Dirt were a blues band formed in East Yorkshire around 1968 comprised of Dave Richardson (vocals), Steve Howden (guitar), Kenny Giles (bass) and Steve Jackson (drums) who built up an impressive live reputation in clubs and venues in the North of England.

They were subsequently signed to Morgan Blue Town. When released in 1970, on the Fontana label, their self-titled debut album sunk without trace and legend – or rumour - has it sold something like 100 copies.

Red Dirt is a lost classic. There is an element of the Doors Morrison Hotel period and a whiff of Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band in the rocking driving blues of tracks like Death Letter and Problems. Song For Pauline on the other hand harks back to the Delta of Robert Johnston.


1. Memories
2. Death Letter
3. Problems
4. Song For Pauline
5. Ten Seconds To Go
6. In the Morning
7. Maybe I’m Right
8. Summer Madness Laced In Newbald Gold
9. Death Of A Dream
10. Gimme A Shot
11. Brain Worker
12. I’ve Been Down So Long

Bonus tracks
13. From End To End
14. Yesterday And Today
15. The Circle Song
16. I’d Rather Go Back 15 Years
17. Tolly Cobbold