My Cart


Mick Abrahams - Hoochie Coochie Man - CD Album

£9.99 GBP

Format: CD

A previously unreleased, new album of British blues rock from the ex-Jethro Tull and Blodwyn Pig axe-man and singer.

Having been ousted from Jethro Tull in 1968 for wanting to steer the band towards a blues rock sound it's clear where Mick Abrahams heart has always lay. Through his solo work with The Mick Abrahams Band and his band work with Blodwyn Pig, Abrahams has established himself as a worthy veteran of the late 1960's blues rock boom and has continued flying the flag to this day.
Originally recorded around 2003-2004, this album was put on hold until recently discovered and given a new lease of life by Secret Records. Now we are treated to some of the finest British blues rock cuts from one of the longest serving and greatest bluesman to come from Britain. Featuring a number of self-penned songs alongside a handful of covers of blues classics; there is much here for any blues fan to indulge in.
Abraham's stretches his blues vox and chops on fiery openers 'Hoochie Coochie Man' and 'She's Into Something', showing how technically masterful he has become on the guitar throughout his career. The album then moves into an array of various blues stylings, presenting just how masterful he is within the blues genre. 'Sunday Driving' takes a more laid back blues rock 'n' roll approach; his cover of 'Cornbread and Peas' looks to traditional, southern blues led by harmonica and acoustic guitar; 'Poor Boy' highlights his ability utilizing a guitar slide; 'What Am I Living For' and 'Used To Being Down' are two ballads revealing a more sensitive touch and 'Three Days At Four' is a traditional 12 bar instrumental jam. Abrahams also gives a good working of blues standards 'You Shook M' and 'Stormy Monday'; the former looks to the Beck/Zeppelin distorted versions for reference whilst the latter stays clean and closer to the original.
Much of blues music has been a simple format to follow but for an artist to truly define their own style, as Abrahams has done, it takes years of dedication and experience. Enjoy 'Hoochie Coochie Man' as a look at an authentic British blues legend taking on timeless classics as well as his own classics.


1. Hoochie Coochie Man
2. Sh's Into Something
3. Sunday Drivin'
4. What Am I Living For?
5. Cornbread and Peas
6. Poor Boy
7. You Shook Me
8. Roadroller
9. Used To Being Down
10. Medication Blues
11. Three Days At Four
12. G.B.N.H.S Blues
13. Take A Good Look Woman
14. I Ain't Never
15. Stormy Monday

ul#nav a[href$='/collections/Test-Pressings'] { color: red;